Police Department Public Record Requests
- Accident Reports
- Concealed Pistol License
- Firearm Permit
- Criminal History Reports
- Police Report Requests
- Parking Tickets
- No Contact Orders and Warrants
A vehicle accident report must be completed if the damage to at least one vehicle exceeds $1000 damage. If an officer was called to the scene of an accident, you do not need to complete a citizen's report form.
If the accident was a result of a hit and run, you should contact the communications center and speak with an officer. If an officer was not called to the scene of an accident and there was over $1000 damage, you and any other drivers should complete a report form to be mailed to the Washington State Patrol.
You may pick up a report form in the Police Department lobby during business hours or from the bin located on the wall outside the door of the Police Department. For further information regarding vehicle accident reports, you may contact the Records Division at 360-417-4915.
**The Port Angeles Police Department has currently suspended Fingerprinting Services due to COVID-19 Pandemic. For more information please contact the records department at 360-417-4915
Fingerprinting for employment, identification, or background check purposes is provided Monday through Friday, between the hours of 9 a.m. through 4 p.m. for a fee of $25.
Concealed Pistol License
The Port Angeles Police Department Lobby is currently CLOSED to all in person business.
- Concealed Pistol License Applications for renewals and replacements only.
- Please submit the following by mail or use the drop box located at the north and south entrances to the Police Department:
- Completed application;
- A copy of your driver's license or photo ID; and
- A check payable to the Police Department.
- The cost is $32.00 for renewals, $42.00 for late renewals, and $10.00 for replacements. It costs $2.00 extra for lamination.
Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL) are issued by the Port Angeles Police Department for city residents only. Anyone living outside the city limits, but within Clallam County, must contact the Clallam County Sheriff's Office.
To apply, complete the entire application form and have a background check that includes fingerprinting. New applications are $49.25.
Renew up to 90 days prior to the printed expiration date and the cost is $32. Late renewals, up to 90 days after the printed expiration date, are $42. Renew beyond 90 days after expiration and the fee is same as a new application. Permits can be laminated for a fee of $2.
Applications are accepted Monday through Friday, during the hours of 9 a.m. through 4 p.m. Generally, qualified applicants will receive their CPL within two weeks, however the law provides for up to a 30-day delay. Delays are often beyond the department's control, so allow sufficient time for processing.
Firearms Dealer licenses are issued by the Port Angeles Police Department for firearms dealers within the city limits of Port Angeles for a fee of $125 per year. A dealer must have a valid Federal Firearms Dealer License to be eligible.
Criminal History Reports
Background checks are available through the Records Division for Port Angeles Police Department criminal history information only. A name and date of birth for the person you are inquiring about is required, and you must come to the Police Department Records Division to obtain this information. You may also be interested in using the Washington Access to Criminal History, also known as the WATCH program.
Who May Request CHRI
Certified criminal justice agencies may request and receive unrestricted CHRI from the Identification and Criminal History Section for criminal justice purposes. The public may request and receive CHRI for non-criminal justice purposes, but it is limited to conviction information only.
Conviction CHRI is defined in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 10.97.030, and it relates to an incident that has led to a conviction or other disposition adverse to the subject. In addition to the conviction CHRI, non-criminal justice requestors (the public) may receive a record showing pending arrest offenses under one year old without disposition, and if the subject is a registered sex offender or kidnapper.
Port Angeles Police can only disseminate Port Angeles Police criminal history. To obtain Washington State criminal history information, contact the Washington State Patrol in Olympia. To get criminal history for the United States contact the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Records division of the Port Angeles Police Department can provide you with addresses and information to contact the state and FBI.
Police Report Requests
Police reports may be requested by phone with the Records Division Monday through Friday between the hours of 9 a.m. to 4 p.m at 360-417-4915, or electronically by clicking the "Request Police Records" tab at the left of the page.
Contact the Police Department Records Division for questions regarding parking violations at 360-417-4915, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. or in person in the Police Department lobby Monday through Friday between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Payments can be mailed or dropped in the drop box. All parking violations must be paid within 15 days or a $25 penalty is added. After 30 days all violations are referred to Evergreen Financial Services Inc., who may be reached at:
P.O. Box 9073
Yakima, WA 98909
Ph: (800) 780-6574
No Contact Orders & Warrants
Information regarding Warrants and No Contact Orders must be obtained by contacting the appropriate court. Clallam County District and Superior courts may be contacted by calling 360-417-2000.